Tender moments of parenting

Dear Son,              
You were having a tough time going to sleep after having watched tigers, grizzlies, koalas and polar bear videos to your heart’s content. Since you would not go to sleep, your mom left you with me in my study, so that I could take you to the bedroom when you felt sleepy. It was already past your bedtime. I thought that you would be sleepy and decided to cut off all stimulus. I took you back to the bedroom, and started our usual bedtime ritual of singing the base note softly by your ear as you were getting to sleep by my side. Soon enough you were asleep. Even though you were asleep, as soon as I stopped humming the note, you would say ‘what next?’, in your sleep. This was a wonderful experience! I could not believe that you were still sub consciously tuned to me even though you were physically asleep. I kept on singing the base note and you wanted me to sing one of your favorite songs! I continued  singing the base note and soon enough you were fully asleep and I could finally stop. Moments like these make me wonder how empty life would have been without you!

Love,
Dad

About parentingexperiences

We plan to list out our experiences growing up(?) together with our little one on this webpage. This is our tribute to the hundreds of people who have put up all of their knowledge and wisdom online for free, from which we have benefited tremendously. Hopefully, someone would benefit from our experiences.....
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

